How do I disable Samsung Re-activation Lock from my device?

Follow

Samsung's Reactivation Lock is a security feature installed on most recent Samsung devices by default. This feature prevents anyone from data wiping and resetting your phone, stopping anyone else from using your phone.

If you're selling your phone through uSell, it is important that you disable Reactivation Lock before sending us your device. If the Reactivation Lock is enabled on the phone we cannot wipe your data and reset it, which prevents re-use and re-selling of your item. 

The location of this option on your phone can vary based on the model of your device and the installed Android version. Here are steps on how to disable Reactivation Lock on some common Samsung models:

 

Galaxy S5, Note 4

To remove Samsung's Reactivation Lock, please follow these steps:

  1. From the Home screen, Tap Apps
  2. Find the Settings App and Tap it
  3. Tap the Security option. If you don't see the option, you may need to select the System tab first.
  4. Scroll down to Reactivation Lock, if it is selected, tap the checkbox to un-select it. If you do not see the Reactivation Lock option, it means your device is not linked to a Samsung Account, you do not need to take any further action.
  5. You will be prompted to enter your Samsung Account password, to make sure you are the rightful owner of the device.
  6. Enter your password, and wait for the request to be processed
  7. You will now see the Reactivation Lock is disabled
  8. You can now safely send your phone to uSell

 

Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge

  1. From the Home screen, tap Apps
  2. Open the Settings App and then tap the Personal Tab
  3. Now go to Lock screen and security
  4. You should now see Find my Mobile, open it. You will be asked to enter your Samsung account credentials
  5. Within the Find my Mobile option, you should see Reactivation Lock is on
  6. Tap the slider to make sure Reactivation Lock is turned off
  7. You can now safely send your phone to uSell 
Was this article helpful?
1 out of 10 found this helpful
Need More Help? Contact us here
Powered by Zendesk