How do I turn off Find My iPhone remotely in iCloud?

Follow

Your iCloud account needs to be removed and “Find My iPhone” needs to be disabled before you sell your iPhone, iPod Touch, Apple Watch, iPad, Mac, or Airpods. If you don’t have access to your device or it will not turn on, you can disable “Find my iPhone” through iCloud. Here’s how:

1. Using a desktop or laptop computer, go to iCloud and sign in to your account with your Apple ID and password. Use the same Apple ID and password linked to the phone you’re selling.

2. Click “All Devices” on top center of the screen.

3. Select the device you’re selling.

icloud-3.png

 

4.  Click Erase the Device.  Since you are the owner of the Apple device and wish to sell it, don't enter a message or number here.  For devices that are not powered on, the device will prompt to be reset once it is rebooted.  After your device is erased, click the green link that reads "Remove from Account."  Your device is now reset and erased, allowing another user to access and activate it.  You may also be able to remote other devices from your iCloud account when logged into an iPad or iPhone that you are still using.

 

Here are legacy instructions on how to remove an Apple device with an older iOS:

1. Log into your iCloud.com account.  A window will appear displaying the device you selected. Ignore it and go to the next step:

icloud-4.png

 

2. Back in the center of the screen your “All Devices” has now changed to the name of the device you’re selling. Click this name and a list of the devices will drop down again. This time you will see an “x” to the right of the device you’re selling. Click the “x.”

icloud-5.png

 

3. You will be prompted to remove the device: 

icloud-6.png

 

4. Click “Remove” and you’re done.

Need to know how to turn off Find My iPhone on your device? Learn more here.

Was this article helpful?
112 out of 327 found this helpful
Need More Help? Contact us here
Powered by Zendesk